Ends on

The IAWF Wildland Fire Safety Award is given to an individual in the international wildland fire community who has made a significant contribution to wildland firefighter safety, either directly on the fireline; or indirectly through management, cultural changes, or through wildland fire research. Their contribution is frequently beyond their normal everyday job expectations - sometimes at the potential risk to their own career, and their example can encourage others to act in a similar manner. 

To nominate an individual, please send an essay (no more than 800 words) on why the nominated person should receive the award, a list of three or more individuals (with contact information) who may be contacted to affirm the importance of the nominated individual's contributions.  When writing your nomination please assume we do not know the individual you are nominating.

The Award was inaugurated in 1997 at the IAWF's first Wildland Fire Safety Summit® held in Rossland, British Columbia. Over the years it has been awarded to fourteen individuals. 

  • 2018 - Kelly Close (USA)
  • 2017 - Domingos Viegas (Portugal)
  • 2015 - March Castellnou (Spain)
  • 2012 – Dave Thomas (USA)
  • 2011 - Jim Cook (USA) 
  • 2009 - Brian Sharkey (USA) 
  • 2008 - Bob Mutch (USA) 
  • 2005 - Ted Putnam (USA) 
  • 2003 - Marty Alexander (Canada) 
  • 2001 - Dick Rothermel (USA) 
  • 2000 - Al Beaver (Canada) 
  • 1999 - Harry Luke (Australia) 
  • 1998 - Paul Gleason (USA) 
  • 1997 - Chuck Hartley (USA)

To nominate, please compose a letter (no more than 800 words) explaining why the nominee should receive the award, and a list of three or more individuals (with contact information) who confirm the nominee's contributions. 

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.